Women's College Hospital - Health Care for Women, Revolutionized

Jump to body content

WCH’s first annual Joint Excellence Awards winners announced

June 11, 2018

By Nora Milne

Several Women’s College Hospital (WCH) staff and clinicians were formally recognized at the first annual Joint Excellence Awards ceremony held last week in the Burton Hall Auditorium.

The awards ceremony celebrated the talented, innovative and collaborative individuals and teams at WCH that strive for ongoing academic and quality excellence. The combined awards ceremony celebrated how our bold academic leadership, excellence and partnerships advance health and health systems.

Winners were congratulated and presented their awards by Marilyn Emery, president and CEO; Heather McPherson, executive vice-president, patient care and ambulatory innovation; Cynthia Whitehead, vice-president of education; Jennifer Price, chief nursing executive and Cheryl Woodman, chief strategy and quality officer.

The award recipients are as follows


Teacher / Educator Award
Debbie Belne, Helen Emanoilidis, Jacqueline Follis, Bonilyn Hill Mohamed, Neil Jobanputra, Rekha John, Richard Liu, Meaghan Peckham, Sushma Persaud, Janis Rusen, Andrea Sadler, Darcy Turner

New Teacher / Educator Award
Natalie Benninger, Dr. Vanessa Redditt

Trainee as a Teacher Award
Dr. Jonah Schermbrucker

Education Innovation Award
Jennifer Alexander, Dr. Sandra Kim & Arlene Silverstein, Dr. Vanessa Rambihar

Collaborative Care Education Award
Jessica Bawden, Janice Du Mont & Sheila Macdonald, WCH Family Practice Home Care Visiting Program (Dr. Ruth Brooks, Meagan Douglas, Dr. Nikita Patel, Lauren Scott, Helen Swan, Holly Finn)


Excellence in Collaborative Ambulatory Care Award

Trauma Therapy Program Team:
Carrie Clarke, Tessa Colthoff, Marlene Duarte-Giles, Anne Fourt, Dr Abby Hershler, Bonilyn Hill Mohamed, Lesley Hughes, Dr. Nicole Koziel, Sue MacRae, Dr. Nancy McCallum, Sushma Persaud, Dr. Dana Ross, Eva-Marie Stern, Almuth Weigeldt

Excellence in Collaborative Innovation Award

Toronto Academic Pain Medicine Institute (TAPMI) Interdisciplinary Team:
Celeste Corkery, Adele Efendov, Jacqueline Follis, Gillian Grant, Karen Ng, Lalia Palacio, Sarah Sheffe

Excellence in Collaborative Leadership/Mentorship Award

Kate Mlodzik

Joan Lesmond Quality Excellence Award

Medication Reconciliation Program: Women’s College Hospital Department of Pharmacy Services and Surgical Services Unit

Surgical Services and Pharmacy Services Medication Reconciliation Team:
Cristina Barrett, Ada Collbarn, Ida-Maisie Famiyeh, Heiwete Girma, Nancy Groff, Norma Husbands, Neil Jobanputra, Benedict Kalathiparambil, Yuelu Lin, Mei Lei Ling, Lisa McCarthy, Angela McCook, Andrea Messner, Victoria Noguera, Tania Parkes, Thanh Vu, Bennedict Wallace

Congratulations to all the winners! 

Jump to top page

More News & Media »

Media inquiries

Please contact Media Relations

Email: media@wchospital.ca

Phone: 416-323-6400 ext. 4054

Media Kit

Please visit our Media Kit page for resources such as images, B-roll video and backgrounders on Women's College Hospital.

  • Fully affiliated with:
  • University of Toronto

  • A member of:
  • Council of Academic Hospitals of Ontario (CAHO)